I am in need of…

May 6, 2010 § Leave a comment


a life-GPS.  I missed having that smooth utters of ‘recalculating’ whenever I detour.

I seemed to have misplaced my inner voice. I could have sworn that by 30, everything would fall into places for me but they didn’t. And instead, I had the biggest 30-minute phenomenon melt-down (one minute for every year of my life, coincidence, I think not) in front of my parents the day before my big three O.

In my mid-twenties, I was really enjoying becoming my own person, looking forward to the journey, exploration and maturity. I used to have this ‘I am fresh, alive and out of control. I can not wait to take over.’ attitude about life. Now I read articles like this, advising me to get married and have kids before thirty. Instead of shrugs and chuckles, now I would experience that little unknown panic: am I really running out of time? Better yet, where has my inner strength gone?

Plus, it is kind of impossible now to meet that plan. Does that mean by some standard, I have somehow screwed up royally ? Or I really should learn how to understand the gifts from the universe better, appreciating the upside of events.

When planning, you need to have a strong concept but being flexible is key. There will be a lot challenges and curve balls that restrict you. Much like the game of life, I guess I just need to:

1) Focus on the now.

2) Like plans, love change.

3) Take risks.

4) Repeat.

easier said than done? “you can’t plan love. And you can’t plan for your career any better”

Tagged: , ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading I am in need of… at every third thought.

meta